ServiziMenu principaleHome
Home > General information > ABC award

ABC award

The ABC Award is aimed at recognising a researcher, physician, nurse or patient advocate who has made an outstanding and impacting contribution in the field of advanced breast cancer throughout his/her career.

The ABC Global Alliance is proud to announce Ms. Shirley A. Mertz as the recipient of the 2021 ABC Award, in recognition of her outstanding advocacy work for all ABC patients worldwide, accomplished through the Metastatic Breast Cancer Network, the Metastatic Breast Cancer Alliance and more recently the Advanced Breast Cancer Global Alliance. Among many important achievements, in 2009 Ms. Mertz led a group of patients to the US Congress and obtained the approval of a resolution to designate October 13 as National Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day. Since then, October 13 MBC/ABC Awareness Day has become recognized and celebrated throughout the world. 

The 2019 ABC Award - in recognition of her foresight in understanding the importance of advanced breast cancer and for launching a Global Alliance against it - was assigned to Fatima Cardoso


Musa Mayer

The 2017 ABC Award - in recognition for her work and dedication to advocacy specifically to advanced breast cancer patients - was assigned to Musa Mayer.



Robert E. Coleman

The 2015 ABC Award - in recognition for his work on metastatic breast cancer, especially improving the management of metastatic cancer to bone, resulting in preservation and improvement in quality of life of patients worldwide - was assigned to Robert E. Coleman.



Joan MassaguéThe 2013 ABC Award - in recognition of his work on discovering fundamental, clinically-relevant biological and molecular mechanisms for metastases including site specificity, latency, self-seeding and the role of the microenvironment in colonization and drug resistance - was assigned to Joan Massagué.



Call for nominations

For the fifth ABC Award, nominations submitted by 6 June 2021 to abc6@abcglobalalliance.org will be assessed.

Nomination process:

  • The nominee must not have already received the ABC Award;
  • The award recipient will be chosen on the basis of his/her accomplishment. No bearing will be given to his/her race, gender, nationality, religious or political views
  • Nominees may not nominate themselves.
  • If any of the members of the ABC Scientific Committee is nominated, he/she will excuse him/herself from all the nomination discussion, selection and approval.
  • The final selection will be made by the ABC6 Chairs and Scientific Committee.

Nominations should be submitted through a letter which should:

  • Be limited to 1.000 words;
  • Include a concise description of the candidate’s accomplishments and a description of how this contribution has changed practice in the field of advanced breast cancer. The letter may refer to publications.
  • biosketch of the nominated person

The recipient will receive an award certificate and will be invited to make a presentation during ABC6.
The outcome of the nominations will be communicated by 16 July 2021.