The abstract book is published as a supplement of The Breast (volume 22, supplement 3, November 2013) and contain abstracts of the invited lecturers and those submitted by the participants that have been accepted for oral or poster presentation or for publication only. The abstract deadline was 8 July 2013.

Participants were invited to submit abstracts on subjects related to advanced breast cancer, including clinical issues, basic and translational research, nursing and advocacy.
Best abstracts were selected for oral presentation within the programme with a 10-minute slide presentation followed by a 5-minute discussion slot.
Poster presentations was scheduled on Friday, 8 November.


 Advanced breast cancer - Basic and translational research
 Advanced breast cancer - Nursing and advocacy
 Advanced breast cancer - Clinical issues: Surgical oncology
 Advanced breast cancer - Clinical issues: Radiation oncology
 Advanced breast cancer - Clinical issues: Medical oncology
 Advanced breast cancer - Clinical issues: Supportive and palliative care
 Advanced breast cancer - Clinical issues: Else


Abstract presenters:

  Jacinta Abraham, Velindre Cancer Centre, Cardiff, UK
 Felipe Ades, Institut Jules Bordet, Department of Medical Oncology, Brussels, BE
Sushma Agrawal, Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Department of Radiotherapy, Lucknow, IN
Sayuri Akiyoshi, National Kyushu Cancer Center, Department of Breast Oncology, Fukuoka, JP
Mahmoud Alhussini, Alexandria Faculty of Medicine, Department of Surgery, Alexandria, EG
Akshay Anand, KG Medical University Lucknow, Department of Surgery, Lucknow, IN
 Michael Andersson, Copenhagen University Hospital Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, DK
Olexiy Aseyev, Dnepropetrovsk State Medical Academy, Department of Oncology and Medical Radiology, Dnepropetrovsk, UA
 Alain Astier, GH Henri Mondor, Department of Pharmacy, Créteil, FR
Jana Barinoff, Kliniken Essen Mitte, Klinik Für Gynäkologische Onkologie, Essen, DE 
Tara Beaumont, Breast Cancer Care, Clinical Department, Sheffield, UK
Manoj Behera, All India Institute Of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), Department of Radiation Onclogy, New Delhi, IN
Natalia Botnariuc, Oncologic Institute, Mammology Department, Chisinau, MD 
Ivana Bozovic Spasojevic, Institute for Oncology and Radiology of Serbia, Department of Medical Oncology, Belgrade, RS
Hakan Buyukhatipoglu, Gaziantep University Oncology Hospital, Gaziantep, TR
Niya Chari, University of Queensland, University of Toronto, Ottawa, CN 
Dian “CJ” M. Corneliussen-James, METAvivor Research and Support, Annapolis, US
Carmine De Angelis, University of Naples "Federico II" Medical Oncology Department, Naples, IT
Rachel Dear, University of Sydney, Sydney, AU
Karen S. Durham, Susan G. Komen, Advocates In Science, Lindale, US
Nagi El Saghir, American University of Beirut Medical Center, Breast Center of Excellence, Naef K. Basile Cancer Institute, Beirut, LB 
Alice Elvy, University Of Birmingham, Department of Medicine, Birmingham, UK
Julia Lynn Fishwick, Associazione Salute Donna Onlus, Milan, IT    
Tomomi Fujisawa, Gunma Prefectural Cancer Center, Department of Breast Oncology, Takabayashi-Nishi Cho, JP
Shahid Gilani, University Hospital of North Staffordshire, Cancer Centre, Stoke On Trent, UK
Arin Hanson, Living Beyond Breast Cancer, Haverford, US
Kenji Higaki, Hiroshima City Hospital, Breast Surgery Department, Hiroshima, JP
Masahiro Hikichi, Fujita Health University Department of Breast Surgery, Toyoake JP
Martin Hogg, Royal Preston Hospital, Preston, UK
Joanna Huszno, Maria Skłodowska-Curie Memorial Cancer Center and Institute of Oncology, Gliwice Branch, Clinical and Experimental Oncology Department, Gliwice, PL 
Hirotaka Iwase, Kumamoto University, Breast and Endocrine Surgery Department, Kummamoto, JP 
Guy Jerusalem, Sart-Tilman University Hospital, Liège, BE
Hiromitsu Jinno, Keio University School of Medicine, Department of Surgery, Shinjuku, JP
 Mariko Kochi, Hiroshima City Hospital, Department of Breast Surgery, Hiroshima, JP
Elvisa Kozma, University Hospital Mother Theresa, Oncology Department, Tirana, AL 
Matteo Lambertini, IRCCS AOU San Martino-IST,  Department of Medical Oncology A, Genoa, IT
Maria Leadbeater, Ashgate Hospice, Macmillan Specialist Palliative Care Nursing Team, Chesterfield, UK
Iryna Liubota, National Medical University named After O.O. Bogomolets, Municipal Clinical Oncological Centre, Surgical Oncology, Kiev, UA 
Sven T. Langkjer, Aarhus University Hospital, Aarhus, DK
 Maja Lynge, Aarhus University Hospital, Department of Oncology, Odense S, Højby, DK
Norbert Marschner, Praxis für Interdisziplinäre Onkologie und Hämatologie, Freiburg i. Br., DE 
Ginny Mason, Inflammatory Breast Cancer Research Foundation, Bainbridge Island, West Lafayette, US
 Akiko Matsumoto, Keio University School of Medicine, Surgery Department, Tokyo, JP 
Ishida Mayumi, National Kyushu Cancer Center, Department of Breast Oncology, Fukuoka, JP 
Susan McCutcheon, Eisai Europe Ltd, Eisai Value Maximization Systems, Hatfield, UK
 Shirley Mertz, Metastatic Breast Cancer Network, New York, US
Marijana Milovic-Kovacevic, Institute for Oncology and Radiology of Serbia, Medical Oncology Department, Belgrade, RS
 Aiko Nagayama, National Cancer Center, Department of Breast and Medical Oncology, Tokyo, JP
 Anna Niwinska, The Maria Sklodowska-Curie Memorial Cancer Center and Institute Of Oncology, Department of Breast Cancer and Reconstructive Surgery, Warsaw, PL
Tsuyoshi Ohno, Nagasaki Municipal Hospital, Department of Surgery, Nagasaki, JP
 Rodrigo Oom, Instituto Português de Oncologia de Lisboa, Department of General Surgery, Lisbon, PT 
Tomofumi Osako, Kumamoto City Hospital, Breast and Endocrine Surgery Department, Kumamoto, JP
Raffaella Palumbo, Fondazione Maugeri-IRCCS, Operative Unit of Departmental Medical Oncology, Pavia, IT
 Ann Marie Potter, Elizabethtown College, Occupational Therapy Department, Elizabethtown, US
Sandra Radenkovic, Institute of Oncology and Radiology of Serbia, Department of Radiation Oncology, Belgrade, RS
Francois Ringeisen, Novartis Pharma AG, Basel, CH
Gabrielle Rocque, University of Wisconsin, Department of Hematology/Oncology, Mountain Brook, US
Jean Rowe, Young Survival Coalition, Programs Department, New York, US
Rakesh Roy, Sarod Gupta Cancer Centre & Research Institute, Department of Medical Oncology, Kolkata, IN
Hirohito Seki, Kitasato Institute Hospital, Breast Center, Surgery Department, Tokyo, JP 
Sho Shiino, National Cancer Center Hospital, Tokyo, Japan
Charu Singh, S.M.S. Medical College and Hospital, Department of Radiotherapy and Clinical Oncology, Jaipur, IN 
Byung Ho Son, Asan Medical Center, Department of Surgery, Seoul,  KR
Snezana Susnjar, Institute for Oncology and Radiology of Serbia, Medical Oncology Department, Belgrade, RS 
Masahiko Suzuki, Kitamurayama Hospital, Breast Center, Higashine, JP
Richard  Tancredi, IRCCS Foundation Salvatore Maugeri, Medical Oncology Unit, Pavia, IT
Christoph Thomssen, Martin Luther University Halle an der Saale, Department of Gynaecology, Halle an der Saale, DE
Zorica Tomasevic, Institute for Oncology and Radiology, Daily Chemotherapy Hospital, Belgrade, RS 
Bhavi Trivedi, Musgrove Park Hospital, Department of Oncology, Somerset, UK
Biyun Wang, Fudan University,  Shanghai Cancer Center, Department of Medical Oncology, Shanghai, CN
Junichiro Watanabe, Shizuoka Cancer Centre, Breast Oncology Department, Shizuoka, JP
Gloria Wei-Chieh Lin, Taiwan Breast Cancer Alliance, Taipei, TW   
Lucy Wells, NHS Lothian, Department Of Oncology, Edinburgh, UK
Rachel Wuerstlein, University Hosiptal Munich, Breast Center, Munich, DE 
Jun Yamamura, Sakai City Hospital Surgery, Breast Oncology Department, Sakai, JP
Yuri Yoshimura, Hiroshima City Hospital, Breast Surgery Department, Hiroshima, JP